The Associated Press has released the first in-season football rankings and traditional powerhouses sit atop the six classes of high school football in Minnesota.  In Class 6A defending State Champion Lakeville North is #2 behind Eden Prairie.  Lakeville South is #5, Eastview of Apple Valley #8.

In Class 5A Owatonna once again reigns supreme.  The two time defending State Champion Huskies see St. Thomas Academy ranked #2 and Elk River #3.  Mankato West is #5.

In Class 4A St. Paul Academy/Minnehaha Academy/Blake another defending State Champion is on top, Hutchinson is #2 and Waseca #3.  The Bluejays are also listed at #2 in Class 3A which would be quite an accomplishment.  The Faribault Falcons next opponent, Winona is #4.

Defending State Champion Rochester Lourdes is #1 in Class 3A.  Cannon Falls is #10.

Caledonia is #1 again in Class 2A, Minneapolis North #2.  Chatfield is #6, Dover-Eyota #10.

In  9-Man Grand Meadow is #1, defending champion Spring Grove #2.

The Associated Press Rankings are below:

Class 9-Man

1. Grand Meadow
2. Spring Grove
3. Mountain Lake Area
4. Stephen-Argyle Central
5. Cromwell-Wright
6. Mountain Iron-Buhl
7. Verndale
8. Norman County East/Ulen-Hitterdal
9. Goodridge-Grygla-Gatzke
10.Hills- Beaver Creek tied with Lanesboro
Others Receiving Votes:  Leroy-Ostrander, Wheaton-Herman-Norcross, Cook County, Ely, Win-E-Mac, South Ridge, Badger-Greenbush-Middle River, Fertile-Beltrami

Class 1A

2. Blooming Prairie
3. Otter Tail Central
4. Mahnomen/Waubun
5. Minneota
6. United South Central
7. Springfield
8. Mayer Lutheran
9. Deer River
10. Polk County West
Others Receiving Votes: Mahnomen, Martin County West, Gibbon-Fairfax-Winthrop, Adrian-Ellsworth, Red Lake, Goodhue, Red Lake County, Underwood, Upsala-Swanville, New York Mills

Class 2A

1. Caledonia
2. Minneapolis North
3. Paynesville
4. Redwood Valley
5. Barnesville
6. Chatfield
7. Moose Lake-Willow River
8. Pipestone Area
9. West Central Area/Ashby
10.Dover-Eyota tied with Maple Lake
Others Receiving Votes: Blue Earth Area, St. Charles, New Richland-Hartland-Ellendale-Geneva, Pillager, Crookston, Lewiston-Altura, Eden Valley-Watkins, LeSeuer-Henderson 

Class 3A

1. Rochester Lourdes
2. Waseca
3. Pierz
4. Jackson County Central
5. Dilworth-Glyndon-Felton
6. Dassel-Cokato tied with Albany
8. Annandale
9. Cannon Falls
10. Perham
Others Receiving Votes: Minnewaska, Breck, Richfield, Mora, Pequot Lakes, Rockford, Stewartville, Luverne, Pine Island, Aitkin, Esko, East Grand Forks

Class 4A

1. SMB Wolfpack (St. Paul Academy/Minnehaha Academy/Blake)
2. Hutchinson
4. Winona
5. Benilde-St. Margaret's
6. Academy of Holy Angels
7. Delano
8. Becker
9. Detroit Lakes
10. Fridley tied with Cloquet
Others Receiving Votes:  St. Anthony, Marshall, Mound-Westonka, Mankato East, Jordan, Hill Murray, Albert Lea, Big Lake, Chisago Lakes, DeLasalle, Rocori, Fergus Falls, Red Wing, Simley

Class 5A

1. Owatonna
2. St. Thomas Academy
3. Elk River
4. Alexandria
5. Mankato West
6. Chaska
7. Bemidji
8. Robbinsdale Armstrong
9. Irondale
10. Hastings
Others Receiving Votes: Waconia, Chanhassen, Tartan, Cambridge-Isanti, Robbinsdale Cooper, Moorhead, Rochester Mayo, Spring Lake Park

Class 6A

1. Eden Prairie
2. Lakeville North
3. St. Michael-Albertville
4. Wayzata
5. Lakeville South
6. Prior Lake
7. Cretin-Derham Hall
8. Eastview
9. Edina
10.Champlin Park
Others Receiving Votes:  Mounds View, White Bear Lake, Farmington, Shakopee



More From KFIL