Rosemount, IL (KROC-AM-News) - The Minnesota Gophers are among the seven Big Ten teams that have won slots in the upcoming NCAA men’s basketball tournament.

A news release from the Big Ten says the U of M was chosen as the 5th seed in the South Region and will face 12th-seeded Middle Tennessee in Milwaukee on Thursday. If the Gophers win the opening game, they would play either Butler or Winthrop next Saturday. The times of the games have not been announced. This is the Gopher’s first appearance in the tourney since 2013 and the tenth in the history of the program.

The other Big Ten teams chosen for the “Big Dance” are Maryland, Michigan, Michigan State, Northwestern, Purdue and Wisconsin. Purdue is the highest seeded Big Ten team at number 4 in the Midwest Region. Michigan and Michigan State are also in Midwest Region, which will open play on Friday, with the Wolverines seeded 7th and the Spartans 9th. Maryland is the 6th seed in the West Region, where Northwestern is seeded 8th, while Wisconsin is the 8th seed in the East Region.

More From KFIL