Minnesota Window Tint Law: How Dark is Too Dark?
DeannaMK chatted a question on our app, "My son is talking about tinting his car windows and I warned him to be careful, Minnesota has laws about how dark you can go with tinting. He said I don't know what I'm talking about, but I'm right, right?"
Are Car Window Tints Legal in Minnesota?
Sgt. Troy Christianson of the Minnesota State Patrol, from Ask A Trooper, says it is not illegal to have tinted windows on your vehicle in Minnesota. However, there are some rules to follow if you're in Minnesota. So yes, DeannaMK, you are so correct...and shame on your son for doubting you. No video games for a week.
One of the rules is, "No vehicle can have ANY tint to the front windshield." He also says no cars come from the factory with zero tint glass, there's some level of tinting built into the window, so we're talking about additional tinting.
What Window Tint Percentage is Legal in Minnesota?
In Minnesota, your windows can be tinted to a light transmittance of 50 percent, but not less. Light transmittance is the amount of light that is required to pass through both the window and the tint film.
- Passenger cars are limited to 50 percent on all side and rear windows.
- Pickups, vans, and SUVs are limited to 50 percent on the front side windows.
- Pickups, vans, and SUVs are not limited on the rear side and rear windows. (Can be less than 50 percent behind the front seat).
- Squad cars, limousines, and vehicles used to transport human remains by a funeral establishment are not limited on the side and rear windows.
What Window Tinting Is Allowed with a Doctor's RX?
Sgt. Christianson said,
"More people are getting prescriptions from doctors to have window tint darker than 50 percent. If people have any type of medical conditions which are affected by the sun, they are allowed to have window tint darker than 50 percent."
If you're using a prescription, keep the proper documentation in the vehicle. Minnesota law says the document must be specific. Any prescription for window tinting has to expire no more than two years from the date it was written.
If you have any questions contact Sgt. Troy Christianson – Minnesota State Patrol at 2900 48th Street NW, Rochester MN 55901-5848. Troy.Christianson@state.mn.us)
November 1st is when the winter parking rules go into effect here in Rochester, Minnesota. It might seem like a long way away, but trust me, it gets here pretty fast. Make sure you know the rules so you don't get towed.
20 of Rochester, Minnesota's Winter Parking Rules - The Biggies
As always, if you have a comment, complaint, or concern about something I wrote here, please let me know: firstname.lastname@example.org